The Bear and the Serpent

ebook Echoes of the Fall

By Adrian Tchaikovsky

cover image of The Bear and the Serpent

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Find this title in Libby, the library reading app by OverDrive.

app-store-button-en.svg play-store-badge-en.svg

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:


The Bear and the Serpent is the second book in Adrian Tchaikovsky's epic fantasy trilogy, Echoes of the Fall, following The Tiger and the Wolf.
'Addictively brilliant' John Gwynne on The Tiger and the Wolf
As the south is in turmoil, an old terror emerges in the north . . .
Maniye, child of both Wolf and Tiger clans, has been named Champion of her people. But they're unsure if she's an asset – or a threat. To buy time, she joins Prince Tecuman's warband of outcasts and heads south, to help him gain his crown. She wants to discover her true place in the world, but instead heads into the jaws of a fierce new conflict.
Civil war threatens as Tecuman and his twin sister battle for the throne, for only one can rule. Yet whoever triumphs will carry a heavy burden, as a great doom has been foreseen that will fall across their whole world. And soon Maniye finds herself at the heart of a political storm.
Danger is also shadowing her old home, where Loud Thunder and his Bear clan are attempting to unite the northern tribes. But only extreme peril will end age-old rivalries. An adversary from the most ancient of times is preparing to strike, putting their lands and their very souls in danger. And neither north nor south will be spared the terror to come.
Complete this sweeping coming-of-age fantasy trilogy with The Hyena and the Hawk.

Available to buy

Amazon logo
The Bear and the Serpent