Things I Should Have Known

ebook A Novel

By Claire LaZebnik

cover image of Things I Should Have Known

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today
Libby_app_icon.svg

Find this title in Libby, the library reading app by OverDrive.

app-store-button-en.svg play-store-badge-en.svg
LibbyApponDevice.png

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:

Loading...

"More a love story about sisterhood than romantic, it's a story that will illuminate what it's like to live an ordinary teenage life when you have autism."—Bustle
An unforgettable story about autism, sisterhood, and first love that's perfect for fans of Jenny Han, Sophie Kinsella, and Sarah Dessen. New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things Julie Buxbaum raved: "I couldn't put it down."

Meet Chloe Mitchell, a popular Los Angeles girl who's decided that her older sister, Ivy, who's on the autism spectrum, could use a boyfriend. Chloe already has someone in mind: Ethan Fields, a sweet, movie-obsessed boy from Ivy's special needs class. Chloe would like to ignore Ethan's brother, David, but she can't—Ivy and Ethan aren't comfortable going out on their own so Chloe and David have to tag along. Soon Chloe, Ivy, David, and Ethan form a quirky and wholly lovable circle. And as the group bonds over frozen yogurt dates and movie nights, Chloe is forced to confront her own romantic choices—and the realization that it's okay to be a different kind of normal.

"LaZebnik hits it out of the park . . . Never resorting to stereotype, she depicts appealing, three-­dimensional characters who flesh out a narrative that is compassionate, tender, funny, and wise all at once. This insightful, well-­written story will entertain readers while inspiring meaningful empathy."—Booklist (starred review)

"Writing with honesty and wit, LaZebnik offers a thought-provoking portrayal of how people can come together despite, or perhaps because of, their differences."—Publishers Weekly
"Chloe and her sister are so authentically portrayed, they nearly leap off the page."—School Library Journal

Available to buy

Amazon logo
Things I Should Have Known