Berani

ebook

By Michelle Kadarusman

cover image of Berani

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today
Libby_app_icon.svg

Find this title in Libby, the library reading app by OverDrive.

app-store-button-en.svg play-store-badge-en.svg
LibbyApponDevice.png

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:

Loading...

Malia, Ari and Ginger's three distinct voices are interwoven to tell the story of Ginger Juice, an orangutan kept captive in a cage in this powerful and uplifting novel suitable for readers of The One and Only Ivan.

Malia has had a privileged upbringing in Indonesia, but now her mother wants to return to her own family on the other side of the world. Malia is determined to stay in Indonesia, her home. Besides, if she leaves, how can she fight for her country's precious rainforests?

Ari knows he is lucky to be going to school and competing on the chess team, even if it means working long hours at his uncle's restaurant. And he's horribly worried about Ginger Juice, his uncle's orangutan. The too-small cage where she lives is clearly hurting her body and her mind, but where else can she go? The rainforest where she was born is a palm oil plantation now.

The choices Malia and Ari make will have consequences for themselves, Ginger Juice and others, if they are courageous enough to choose.

A powerful story about a standing up for what you believe no matter what the cost.

Berani