Call Me Adnan

audiobook (Unabridged)

By Reem Faruqi

cover image of Call Me Adnan
Audiobook icon Visual indication that the title is an audiobook

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today
Libby_app_icon.svg

Find this title in Libby, the library reading app by OverDrive.

app-store-button-en.svg play-store-badge-en.svg
LibbyDevices.png

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:

Loading...

"An emotional tale of a family's grief and healing, full of courage and hope" —Kirkus

"Faruqi renders this tender story of loss with a deft hand, employing vivid details surrounding Adnan's Pakistani Muslim identity . . . and nuanced characterizations to present a tear-jerking ode to family." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"A realistic, moving exploration of family, loss, and healing." —Booklist

"Faruqi takes on the difficult subject of family loss with beauty and grace in her gentle lyrical style. She allows Adnan, a young table-tennis enthusiast, to go through grief while holding not just sadness, but love and joy, in an honest and nuanced story that is ultimately filled with hope." —Veera Hiranandani, Newbery Honor author of The Night Diary

For fans of Planet Omar and The Ethan I Was Before, award-winning Pakistani author Reem Faruqi of Unsettled delivers a middle grade novel in verse about table tennis player Adnan, who dreams of the championship and a fun-filled family trip to Florida. But when tragedy strikes, he and his family must cope with a terrible loss and come together as one again. This poignant story about a Muslim family learning to heal is hope-filled and moving.

Adnan Zakir loves table tennis. He's also colorblind, left-handed, and has a fondness for the aviation alphabet. He's super close with his sister, Aaliyah, who is a great dancer and memorizer of Quran, and he loves his little toddler brother Rizwan, who only wants to grow up and play table tennis like his big brother.

All Adnan dreams of is making it to the Ultimate Table Tennis Championship in Florida, and if he qualifies for the tournament, he knows he will get to spend the Eid holiday with his cousins! But when the family travels there, unthinkable tragedy strikes, and Adnan swears he'll never play table tennis ever again. Slowly, he and his family must learn to make peace and move forward, as a family.

A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection pick!

Supplemental enhancement PDF accompanies the audiobook.

Call Me Adnan