The Advocate's Daughter

ebook A suspenseful legal thriller with a shock ending

By Alex Finlay

cover image of The Advocate's Daughter

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today
Libby_app_icon.svg

Find this title in Libby, the library reading app by OverDrive.

app-store-button-en.svg play-store-badge-en.svg
LibbyApponDevice.png

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:

Loading...
'SMART, SOPHISTICATED, SUSPENSEFUL, AND WRITTEN WITH REAL INSIDER AUTHENTICITY. A WINNER' LEE CHILD It's not who you know, it's what you know about them . . . Among Washington D.C. power players, everyone has something to hide, including Sean Serrat, a Supreme Court lawyer. Sean transformed his misspent youth into a model adulthood, and now has one of the most respected legal careers in the country. But just as he learns he's on the short list to be nominated to the U.S. Supreme Court, his daughter, Abby, a talented and dedicated law student, goes missing.When Abby's lifeless body is discovered shoved into a shelf at the Supreme Court Library, Sean is wracked with grief. Does her murder have anything to do with the secret he's been keeping for years? He follows the footsteps of his daughter's last days and stumbles over secrets within his own family – as well as the lies of some of the most powerful people in the country. People who will stop at nothing to prevent Sean from exposing the truth . . .Praise for The Advocate's Daughter: 'Keeps twisting and turning right up until its shock of an ending. Long-buried secrets and shadowy agendas murderously collide – smack in the middle of a heated Supreme Court nomination clash [...] Read and marvel' GREGG HURWITZ'The tension starts on the very first page, and keeps ratcheting up. Once it grabs you it won't let go' JOSEPH FINDER'A brilliant thriller that's smart, well-written, and heart-stopping' LINDA FAIRSTEIN'A taut and twisting thriller... It crackles with authenticity and moves with an irresistible momentum' LISA UNGER'A smart, suspenseful thriller filled with insider knowledge of the Supreme Court, D.C. politics, and collisions between the two. It's also an absorbing story about families and the sacrifices we make for the people we love' ALAFAIR BURKE'Fast paced, sharply plotted... A blast!' ROBERT DUGONI'Engaging and riveting... This no-holds-barred potboiler shines a light on Washington's halls of power only to reveal the darkness lurking within them' PROVIDENCE JOURNAL'The 'best of the best' when it comes to suspense' SUSPENSE MAGAZINE'A taut, twisting thriller' HUFFINGTON POST'This fast-paced thriller will appeal to fans of Brad Meltzer, Joseph Finder, and Scott Turow' BOOKLIST'Rich and fine in plot background with a flowing narrative style – this is fiction rooted in reality... Highly recommended' NEW MYSTERY READER MAGAZINE'Judicial fiction at its finest' FOR THE LOVE OF BOOKS.COM'A riveting legal thriller that will keep you turning pages until the breathtaking end' ABOVE THE LAW'Tautly written and expertly put together, if there is one crime thriller you want to add to your collection, then let this be it' CRIMINAL ELEMENTWhat Amazon reviewers are saying: 'Nobody does it better [...] than Franze. He's perfectly suited to tell this story, himself a starred Supreme Court advocate. And he tells it so well, smoothly slipping in and blending day-to-day Supreme Court realisms with a highly suspenseful tale' ★★★★★'Best leisure read of my life. Real. Intoxicating. Impactful. Superior. Franze's latest offering is fueled by uncommonly salacious access to many elements of the world's highest and most exclusive secret society' ★★★★★'A tremendously enjoyable read. Finished in just a couple days – actually a couple very late nights. If you enjoy fast paced thrillers, then you will not be disappointed' ★★★★★'Great characters, tight narrative, and interesting insider facts about the Supreme Court. And non-stop action. The whole thing is really clever. Plus, a great twist at the end that I did not see coming' ★★★★★
The Advocate's Daughter