ebook Collected Stories

By Arthur Miller

cover image of Presence

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Find this title in Libby, the library reading app by OverDrive.

app-store-button-en.svg play-store-badge-en.svg

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:

'An essential addition to the body of Arthur Miller's work ... an arresting self-portrait' Guardian

'Reading the book feel[s] like gaining privileged access to Miller ... Fascinating and salutary' Daily Telegraph
During his lifetime the great American playwright Arthur Miller published two highly regarded collections of stories: I Don't Need You Any More (1967) and Homely Girl, a Life (1995). Shortly after his death in 2005 a final collection, Presence (2007), appeared. Now, all eighteen of these stories are gathered together in one volume for the first time, including the six from Presence.
In his plays Miller took on the big themes of the day, putting stories of the Depression, wartime deceit and the McCarthy era on stage with an energy and passion not seen before and rarely since. In these stories he turns his attention to smaller, more intimate themes, informed by an unusual sensuality and delicacy. This essential collection offers a fresh perspective of the great writer and his work, with his famously profound insight, humanism, empathy and wit.