Knight's Gambit

ebook Vintage International

By William Faulkner

cover image of Knight's Gambit

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Find this title in Libby, the library reading app by OverDrive.

app-store-button-en.svg play-store-badge-en.svg

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:

Faulkner's six dectective stories feature attorney Gavin Stevens, a recurring character from Faulkner's novels, as he investigates violent crimes. This newly restored edition presents the stories the way Faulkner intended them.
Originally published in 1949, Knight's Gambit is a collection of six stories written in the 1930s and 1940s that focus on the criminal investigations of Gavin Stevens, the county attorney of Faulkner's fictional Yoknapatawpha County, Mississippi, where so many of his famous novels are set. 
These stories originally appeared in magazines, where editors made substantial changes to Faulkner's manuscripts before publishing them. Some of these changes seem to have been intended to make the stories conform to prevailing styles, some were made for concision or propriety, and some to remove the regional "Southernness" of Faulkner's tales. Scholar John N. Duvall uncovered edited typescripts that revealed the deletions and changes and allowed him to restore these six stories to their original Faulknerian glory.
Knight's Gambit